Write Here, Write Now: 6.29 – Shine A Light

The Rolling Stones – Shine A Light. Illuminating stuff

This  was a song I had a few expectations about before I listened to it. I knew there was a  recent filmed concert of that name – which suggested it was one of the Stones’ more recognized songs. I think I read it was a gospel tune, but that didn’t necessarily tell me good or bad things about it – there have been previous gospel songs on this album, not all of which were to my taste.

I like this. It feels sincere, expressive, somewhat, dare I say it, joyous. There’s lovely guitar, piano and organ playing and Jagger delivers without getting overwrought. In fact, the more I listen to it, the more I enjoy the pace, the unforced rhythm. Hell, even the bass playing is distinctive and adds to the groove. Backing vocals coming in just at the right moment. And above all, the piano playing – I think I’m in love with it – whether pounding away, neatly but with force, or adding to the back ground rhythm. And the organ breakdown – isn’t spoiled by the guitar dribbles and Jagger panting, but creates a wide open space for the last minute to gear up to a righteous and dignified finish. A bit too dignified, maybe – it seems to close with a whimper rather than a (bigger) bang.

Having now read a bit about the song’s origins (1968 prayer for Brian Jones) and players (no Richards, Watts and possibly no Wyman), it makes me think I like Stones’ songs when they are least grimey and involve the fewest actual band members. Billy Preston and Mick Taylor’s contributions are deeply impressive, though.

Could this be my favourite song on the album? I wouldn’t be surprised. There’s such great balance between the instruments and such poise – like they’ve practised this until the orchestration feels natural and unforced.

 

Leave a comment